Math and Science Scholars Loan Repayment Program
The primary purpose of the Math and Science Scholars Loan Repayment Program is to encourage teachers who demonstrated high academic achievement as math or science majors to teach math or science for at least four years in Title I* public schools in Texas.
*Schools that receive federal funding under Title I, Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965.
To speak to a Customer Service Representative regarding loan repayment programs, call 833-597-0454, Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST.
Online Inquiries: CONTACT US (select “Financial Aid Question” as the Contact Reason)
Funding for State Fiscal Year 2020-2021
Priority for loan repayment assistance is given to prior year recipients who are continuing their service in the program pursuant to their agreements. There are not sufficient funds to enroll new program participants during the state fiscal year beginning September 1, 2020.
The following applies to teachers who enrolled in the program after September 1, 2019
Applicants must have graduated with a 3.0 or higher GPA and must agree to teach at least four consecutive years at Texas public schools that receive federal Title I funding. The maximum award amount for the current academic year has been increased to $10,000.
|Consecutive Years of Teaching||Eligible Employment||Annual Award|
|Required Service - First Four Years||Title I School in Texas||Maximum Amount|
|Option 1 - Additional Four Years||Title I School in Texas||Maximum Amount|
|Option 2 - Additional Four Years||Any Texas Public School||75% of Maximum Award|
To be eligible for conditional approval a teacher must:
- have completed an undergraduate or graduate program in mathematics or science
- have earned a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 on a four-point scale or the equivalent, at the institution from which the teacher graduated
- be certified under the Texas Education Code, Subchapter B, Chapter 21, or under a probationary teaching certificate, to teach mathematics or science in a Texas public school (a generalist certification is not an eligible certificate type)
- have secured an employment contract as a full-time classroom teacher to teach mathematics or science in a Title I school at the time of application for enrollment in the program
- be a U.S. citizen
- submit a completed application, including an official transcript from the institution from which the applicant graduated, to THECB by the application deadline
- not have received or be receiving any other state or federal loan repayment assistance, including a Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant or teacher loan forgiveness
For additional details, please review the administrative rules for the program.
Up to $10,000.
Loan repayment awards are reported to the Internal Revenue Service by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
The following requirements apply for a loan to be eligible for repayment through the program:
- must be evidenced by a promissory note for loans to pay for the cost of attendance for undergraduate or graduate education
- must not be in a default status at the time of application
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I have to commit to eight years of service?
If you applied before September 1, 2019, you agreed to provide eight consecutive years of service. The first four consecutive years of service must be in a Texas public school that receives federal funding under Title I, while the other four consecutive years may be in any public school in Texas.
If you applied on or after September 1, 2019, the agreement calls for at least four consecutive years of service in a Texas public school that receives federal funding under Title I, and you may provide up to an additional four consecutive years at any public school in Texas.
You will be released from the agreement if funding for the program is not available.
What happens if I leave the program? Do I have to pay back any money I received?
No, you will not be required to pay back any funds received if you leave the eligible school, move to another state, or fail to meet any of the program requirements. You will be removed from the program and will not be eligible for any loan repayment programs offered by the State of Texas.
What is considered a full-time classroom teacher?
Teaching a minimum of four hours a day.
When will I receive my award?
The annual award will be mailed to the lender after you have completed each year of service and all required documentation has been received and reviewed.