Exemption Program for Clinical Preceptors and Their Children

Program Purpose

To encourage nurses to serve as Clinical Nurse Preceptors by providing a partial exemption from tuition to them and/or their children.

Eligibility Requirements

Clinical Preceptors who:

AND


Persons who:

New Requirements Fall, 2014

Senate Bill 1210 (83rd Texas Legislature, Regular Session) adds a Grade Point Average requirement for persons to receive continuation awards through the program. The Bill also establishes a Limit to the Total Number of Hours, cumulative, that a student may take and continue to receive awards through this program. These changes go into effect in fall, 2014. Contact your institution for more information.

Eligible Institutions

Available only for use at a Texas public college or university. To access listings of Texas public colleges and universities, follow the links to Texas Public Institutions.

Award Amount

The preceptor may receive up to $500 or actual tuition, whichever is less, for as long as he/she meets program requirements.

The child of a preceptor may receive $500 or actual tuition charges, whichever is less, for up to 10 semesters or until the student receives his/her bachelor’s degree. Summer terms of less than nine weeks count as ½ a regular semester.

Application Process

Complete the Preceptor Exemption application form and submit it to the institution. Provide the college registrar written proof of eligibility from the Nursing department through which the Preceptor has (or had) a written preceptor agreement.

Additional Information